I heard about My Brightest Diamond for the first time when I looked up The Decemberists tour and found out that My Brightest Diamond was opening for The Decemberists for this summer’s tour. Before I went for the concert, I saw the video for Dragonfly but I was less than impressed.

Watching My Brightest Diamond live was, however, a different experience altogether. Their songs are powerful and with drastic change of rhythm. The use of discordant guitars leaves a memorable impression. Shara Worden’s classically trained voice is beautiful and flows well with the dark and minimalistic sound of the band. She also has an intriguing accent that is reminiscent of Sinead O’Connor. MBD does an excellent rendition of Led Zeppelin’s No Quarter in their live set. It’s a pity this cover is not a part of the album.

