cover2.gifI picked up Free Culture: The Nature and Future of Creativity by Lawrence Lessig recently. For those who don’t know, Lawrence Lessig is a Professor of Law at Stanford Law School. He is also one of the biggest voices in favour of electronic freedom and the founder of Creative Commons. I have been following his blog for a while and what other prominent activists have been saying about him. I have been meaning to read this book for a while but I never got around to it.

Though I have formed quite a strong opinion about the importance of freedom of electronic media and the Internet, I sometimes find myself unable to fully convince others about it. Through this book, I hope to both educate myself and also be able to provide compelling arguments to others when they attack me about the need to be able to protect property in a world where copying bits is almost trivial.

I will do a more thorough review of the book once I have read it entirely, but from what I’ve read so far, I have found it to be extremely compelling and even entertaining. It can be said that I do not need any more convincing and someone who is more skeptical than I am may not agree with Lessig’s point of view, but I believe that it will still give the skeptics a lot to think about.

